## State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



# Meeting Minutes Public Comment Session

City Hall Complex San Antonio, Texas 78205

### **2021 – 2023 Council Members**

Mayor Ron Nirenberg

Mario Bravo, Dist. 1 | Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2

Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3 | Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4

Teri Castillo, Dist. 5 | Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6

Ana Sandoval, Dist. 7 | Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8

John Courage, Dist. 9 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

Wednesday, May 3, 2023

5:00 PM

**Municipal Plaza Building** 

The City Council convened a regular meeting in the Norma S. Rodriguez Council Chamber in the Municipal Plaza Building beginning at 5:00 PM. City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Council Members present:

**PRESENT: 9** – Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello Havrda,

Castro, Courage, Perry

**ABSENT: 2 -** Viagran, Pelaez

### **PUBLIC HEARING**

1. Public Hearing for proposed Substantial Amendment #1 to the FY 2023 Annual Action Plan and Budget for the reprogramming of \$1,791,478.07 from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. [Lori Houston, Assistant City Manager; Veronica Garcia, Director, Neighborhood and Housing Services Department]

Mayor Nirenberg opened the Public Hearing at 5:00 p.m. City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre read the caption. No members of the public were signed up to speak. Mayor Nirenberg closed the Public Hearing at 5:02 p.m.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

2. Public Comment is your opportunity to address your City of San Antonio elected officials directly about issues that are important to you and your community. To sign up to speak visit www.saspeakup.com. Click on meetings and events and select the meeting you'd like to participate in. Sign up to speak or submit a written comment. Members of the public are given up to three minutes to speak, and groups are given up to nine minutes.

Sylvia Kirk, Stacey Arrington and Brendan Gibbons, residents of Oak Grove Subdivision, spoke in opposition to rezoning for a new development at 7500 Prue Road.

Vicki Steerman, Jolene Valenzuela, Michael Kucik, Lea LaPort and John Bachman spoke in opposition to euthanization of dogs at Animal Care Services and requested more local adoptions and spay/neuter programs.

Maggie Grueskin and Kristen McKenney Baggett spoke regarding International Day of Yoga and announced free events sponsored by idoyoga.org.

Will McCleod provided a photo of a detour sign that was knocked down and left by the Public Works Department. He cited chapter 302 of the property maintenance code which required property owners to maintain the sidewalk. McCleod showed a photo of a bandit political campaign sign.

Armen Babajanian, Shant Barsoumian and Marc Cross spoke on behalf of the San Antonio Armenian community and recognized April 24<sup>th</sup> as Armenian Genocide Remembrance Day and provided a history of Armenia.

Jalal Abdelqader spoke regarding cloud lines in the sky contending the planes were spraying something.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further public comment, the meeting was adjourned at 5:44 p.m.

Approved

Ron Nirenberg Mayor

Debbie Racca-Sittre City Clerk